

# **Vancouver Thunderbirds Hockey**

# **Annual General Meeting Minutes (Virtual)**

Monday, June 21st, 2021

#### 1. Call to Order

The Annual General Meeting of the Vancouver Thunderbird MHA was called to order at 7:00 pm on June 21<sup>st</sup>, 2021 via Zoom Meeting (due to COVID19), by the President of the Board of Directors, Chantal Cotton (CC). Seventy-six (76) members were officially registered and fourty-four (44) officially attended.

Tanya Foley (TF), Executive Director, reviewed the virtual voting and meeting instructions.

# **Approval of Agenda**

Motion to adopt the 2021 AGM agenda as circulated.

Motion: Chantal Cotton Seconded: Peter Tolensky Approved

#### 2. Introductions

CC recognized that we stand on the unceded territories of the Coast Salish peoples, the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh Nations. She then welcomed all present to the AGM and introduced Vancouver Thunderbirds Hockey Board members, staff, special guests and life members.

Staff Members: Tanya Foley – Executive Director

Audrey White – Manager Administration Jake Elliot – Coordinator Administration

Mike Todd - Director of Player & Coach Development – Recreational

Derek Popke (absent) – Hockey Advisor Trevor Boudreau (absent) – Referee In Chief

Special Guests: Kristine Simpson – BDO Audit Partner

Life Members: Chris Eliopoulos

Nandia Eliopoulos George Georgeopoulos

Bill Veenstra

Board Members: Frank Nishi – Secretary/Treasurer

Peter Tolensky – Director, Policy/Associate Director, Recreational

Johanna Webber – Director, U6-U9 Patricia Tait – Associate Director, U6-U9

Jody Yau – Director, Recreational Bruce Gregg – Director, Rep

Steve Gully - Director, Special Projects/Associate Director, Rep

Bart Vanstaalduinen – Director, Coaching Mike Kauffman – Associate Director, Finance

CC offered special recognition to Johanna Webber for her time and dedication to the board as she has chosen not to pursue another term.

## **Approval of 2020 AGM Minutes**

Motion to adopt the 2020 AGM minutes as circulated.

Motion: Chantal Cotton Seconded: Steve Gully Approved

#### 3. Thunderbirds Awards Presentation

The Thunderbird Awards were presented for all but the Junior and Senior referee categories for the 2020-21 season. The recipients were:

Years of Service Award (Coaches, Managers and Division Ambassadors, with TBirds 5+ years):

- 5 years: Aaron Griffith, Aaron Laslo, Andrea Chivers, Bart Vanstaalduinen, Casey Jones, Chris Curran, David McInnes, G Cameron Dong, Jamie Stafford, Jeremy Hui, Joanne Busser, Jonathan Reilly, Kevin James, Krista Dosen, Neil Smith, Romeo Lakovic
- 10 years: Amy de Bree, Ernie Ma, Frank Jagas, Mark Schmidt, Mike Ramage, Mike Seitz, Rod Reid
- 15 years: Jay Hiscox, Mike Todd, Paul Dhaliwal, Terry Neill

Brad Addison (U6-U9 Coach of the Year): Frank Joe, U7C4

U11-U13 Coach of the Year: Brian Dartnell & Keith Biln, U13C1

U15-U18 Coach of the Year: Brian Bartlett, U18C1

William Staiger Award (Alumni Award): Lucas Hildebrand, U15A2

Don Currie Award: Terry Neill, U18C2

Manager of the Year Award: Andrea Chivers, U9C1

President's Service Award: Mike Bryden, U18C2

Eliopoulos Outstanding Contribution Award: Dan Tung

### 4. Dale Cheney Scholarships Presentation

CC announced and congratulated the thirteen recipients of the Dale Cheney Scholarship Award for the 2020-21 season:

Adam Edamura, Aidan Kolof, Alexander Aziz, Benjamin Kolb, Brandon Xu, Christopher Chow, Colton Sammut, Constatine Bousalis, Ethan Chao, Justin Ishiguro, Noam Guralnick, Ryan Tam, Sawyer Drummond

# 5. AGM Presentation – Year in Review

CC thanked everyone involved in helping keep TBirds on the ice through a challenging season and acknowledged the extra efforts by our Division Ambassadors and team staff in the 2020-21 Covid impacted season. She recognized the PCAHA Scholarship Award winners as well as Trevor Boudreau (PCAHA Head Referee of the Year) and Tanya Foley (PCAHA President's Service Award).

Members of the Board provided a recap of the season for their respective oversight areas. TF provided a recap of the 2020-21 season.

### 6. Director Reports

No questions were raised about the Directors' reports previously posted online. TF thanked the Board for their time and dedication.

### 7. Financials

Kristine Simpson (KS) presented the findings of the audit conducted by BDO Canada

"In our opinion, except for the possible effect regarding the completeness of donations, the financial statements present fairly the financial position of the Vancouver Thunderbirds Association for the year ended March 31, 2021 and the results of its operations and its cash flows for the year ended in accordance with ASNPO."

KS acknowledged the impact of Covid-19 and highlighted the CEWS and CEBA grants in the financial statements that assisted the Thunderbirds association this season.

FN acknowledged the members of the Finance Committee and thanked them for their assistance this season. He reviewed the audited financial statements which resulted in an excess of revenue over expenses of \$108,820, which included \$94,874 received in Covid-related government subsidies and grants.

Steve Gully (SG) provided an in-depth look at how registration fees within divisions were spent last season.

### 8. Other Business - None

### 9. Board of Directors Elections

SG provided an overview of the process followed in identifying the recommended slate of candidates and endorsed by the board. The candidates include returning Board members Bruce Gregg, Chantal Cotton, and Peter Tolensky as well as two new candidates, Cecilia Rosner and Rhiannon Wong. No nominations were presented from the floor.

Motion to elect the 5 candidates recommended by the Nominating Committee which will as a result increase the board size to 11.

Motion: Steve Gully Seconded: Jody Yau Approved

# 10. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion: Chantal Cotton Seconded: Johanna Webber Approved

Meeting adjourned at 8:00 pm.