

# Vancouver Thunderbirds Hockey

# **Annual General Meeting Minutes (Virtual)**

## Tuesday, June 21st, 2022

#### 1. Call to Order

The Annual General Meeting of the Vancouver Thunderbird MHA was called to order at 7:08 pm on June 21<sup>st</sup>, 2022 via Zoom Meeting, by the President of the Board of Directors, Chantal Cotton (CC). Seventy-seven (77) members were officially registered and thirty-six (36) officially attended.

Chantal Cotton (CC), President of the Board of Directors, reviewed the virtual voting and meeting instructions.

## **Approval of Agenda**

Motion to adopt the 2022 AGM agenda as circulated.

Motion: Chantal Cotton Seconded: Jody Yau Approved

#### 2. Introductions

CC recognized that we stand on the unceded territories of the Coast Salish peoples, the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh Nations. She then welcomed all present to the AGM and introduced Vancouver Thunderbirds Hockey Board members, staff, special guests and life members.

Staff Members: Audrey White – Operations Manager

Mike Todd (absent) - Director of Player & Coach Development – Recreational

Derek Popke (absent) – Hockey Advisor

Trevor Boudreau (absent) - Referee in Chief

Shannon Butler - Admin Assistant

Life Members: Chris Eliopoulos

Nandia Eliopoulos

George Georgeopoulos

Bill Veenstra

Special Guests: Kristine Simpson – BDO Audit Partner

Board Members: Frank Nishi – Secretary/Treasurer

Peter Tolensky-Director, Policy/Associate Director, Recreational

Rhiannon Wong – Director, U6-U9

Cecilia Rosner – Associate Director, U6-U9

Jody Yau –Director, Recreational

Bruce Gregg - Director, Rep

Steve Gully - Director, Special Projects/Associate Director, Rep

Mike Kauffman – Associate Director, Finance Patricia Tait – Director, Fundraising/Special Events CC offered special recognition to Frank Nishi and Jody Yau for their time and dedication to the board as they have chosen not to pursue another term.

## **Approval of 2021 AGM Minutes**

Motion to adopt the 2021 AGM minutes as circulated.

Motion: Chantal Cotton Seconded: Peter Tolensky Approved

## 3. Dale Cheney Scholarships Presentation

CC announced and congratulated the eighteen recipients of the Dale Cheney Scholarship Award for the 2021-22 season:

Ajel Dale, Andrew Joe, Arana Thayaparan, Ben Gutman, Bradley Mah-Young, Brayden Chan, Bryn McColl, Carson Davis, Cedric Armstong, Forrest Rozitis, Jack Cox, Jacob Wong, Kade Manning, Luciano Faugno, Matheson Ramage, Ryan Ho, Ryan Becker, Tyler Mueller

### 4. Thunderbirds Awards Presentation

The Thunderbird were able to present this year's awards at the yearend banquet at the end of April. The award winners were:

Years of Service Award (Coaches, Managers and Division Ambassadors, with TBirds 5+ years):

- 5 years: Brian Rozon, Casey Weeks, Chris Archibald, Collin York, Dave Issar, David Bretherick,
  Eric Lee, Graham Thomas, James Prentice, Jason MacCulloch, Jeff Sauve, Jennifer Ellis, Karrie
  Bogart, Keith Biln, Kyle Quarry, Lorna Braber, Lucas Hildebrand, Peter Tolensky, Ryan Wong,
  Samuel Voo
- 10 years: Bruce Stebbings, Doug Park, Duanne Van Beek, Harrison Brown, Jon Lazar, Matt Donnelly, Shane Uren, Steve Yan Klassen
- 15 years: Greg Rozitis, Matt McColl

Brad Addison(U6-U9 Coach of the Year): Calum MacLeod

U11-U13 Coach of the Year: Sean Atkinson

U15-U18 Coach of the Year: Jason Chiu

William Staiger Award (Alumni Award): Jordy Engleson and Jens Persson-Thomas

Don Currie Award: Jim Davis

Manager of the Year Award: Betty Chuck

President's Service Award: Matt McColl

Eliopoulos Outstanding Contribution Award: Greg Rozitis

Junior Referee of the Year Award: Jamie Song

Senior Referee of the Year Award: Brandon Park

### 5. AGM Presentation - Year in Review

CC thanked everyone involved in helping keep TBirds on the ice through an unusual season and acknowledged the extra efforts by our Division Ambassadors and team staff during the 2021-22 season. She recognized the two hundred and seventeen (217) team coaches, fifty-four (54) on-ice volunteers, sixty-two (62) team/skill group managers and one hundred and seventy-eight (178) safety people who helped make this season for fifty-eight (58) teams possible.

CC recognized the Thunderbird athletes that were acknowledged by PCAHA for winning bursaries at the U18 Joe Morellato scholarship tournament or at the end of the season awards ceremony. She also recognized Bryn McColl for winning a BC Hockey referee scholarship.

Members of the Board provided a recap of the season for their respective oversight areas. CC provided a recap of the 2021-22 season.

## 6. Director Reports

There was a question raised regarding the bursary program and how many players it supported. The answer provided by CC was twenty-six (26). No other questions were raised about the Directors' reports previously posted online. CC thanked the Board for their time and dedication.

### 7. Financials

Kristine Simpson (KS) presented the findings of the audit conducted by BDO Canada

"In our opinion, except for the possible effect regarding the completeness of donations, the financial statements present fairly the financial position of the Vancouver Thunderbirds Association for the year ended March 31, 2022 and the results of its operations and its cash flows for the year ended in accordance with Canadian accounting standards for not-for-profit organizations."

Frank Nishi (FN) acknowledged the members of the Finance Committee and thanked them for their assistance this season. He reviewed the audited financial statements which resulted in an excess of revenue over expenses of \$172,604.

Steve Gully (SG) provided an in-depth look at how registration fees within divisions were spent last season. A questioned was raised looking for more information on some of the specifics in each group which was answered.

Motion to accept the financial statements as presented.

Motion: Frank Nishi Seconded: Peter Tolensky Approved

### 8. Other Business - None

### 9. Board of Directors Elections

JY provided an overview of the process followed in identifying the recommended slate of candidates and endorsed by the board. The candidates include returning Board members Mike Kauffman, Patricia Tait, and Steve Gully as well as three new candidates, Alvin Zhao, Kevin Gibson and Kibben Jackson. No nominations were presented from the floor.

Motion to elect the 6 candidates as recommended by the Nominating Committee.

Motion: Jody Yau Seconded: Peter Tolensky Approved

## 10. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn the meeting.

Motion: Chantal Cotton Seconded: Peter Tolensky Approved

Meeting adjourned at 8:04 pm.

